Feeling God's Pleasure

JuneMeet June. I had the pleasure of visiting her last week in a retirement village. My friend Alan, who heads up Pastoral Care in our church thought I needed to meet her. It didn’t take long to figure out why.

Her face lit up as soon as I walked in the room. “Peter,” she says, “how lovely of you to come! Here, sit down on my bed so we can talk.”

I asked about her health and well-being. June is struggling with a few health problems – mainly her legs. They are filled with fluid and ache constantly. But you wouldn’t know it. Not with the smile that never leaves her face.

“You’ve just had a birthday haven’t you dear?” says Alan.
“Yes,” June replies, “I’m now 68!”
“You mean 86” says Alan.
“Oh yes – that’s what I mean” says June, with a twinkle in her eye.

“So how…

View original post 562 more words

