THE GOSPEL ALONE

We have but one life to live, and but one heart from which to give… May they both be undivided in their faithful devotion to God…

Psalm 86:11-12 “Teach me your way, O Lord, that I may walk in your truth; unite my heart to fear your name.   I give thanks to you, O Lord my God, with my whole heart, and I will glorify your name forever.”

Charles Spurgeon comments on these verses: “Our minds are apt to be divided [among] a variety of objects, like trickling streamlets which waste their force in a hundred runnels; our greatest desire should be to have all our life-floods poured into one channel and to have that channel directed toward the Lord alone.”

Source

We are naturally disposed toward having divided, distracted, ever-wandering hearts.  We gravitate toward those things that seem to satisfy our momentary longings, and yet realize that even those objects of affection…

View original post 372 more words

