I was struck by the fact that abortion was so front and center at the Democratic National Convention. During one night of the DNC, I tweeted:

It deeply disturbs me to see a stadium full of people cheer whenever abortion is affirmed.

It was the most retweeted statement I ever made. I understand that they were cheering, in their minds, the “choice,” but that choice is to have an abortion– to end a life. To stop a beating heart. As a pro-life person, I believe that abortion is wrong. Yet, I think a stadium full of people cheering it is tragic.

The Democratic Platform expresses their view of abortion this way:

The Democratic Party strongly and unequivocally supports Roe v. Wade and a woman’s right to make decisions regarding her pregnancy, including a safe and legal abortion, regardless of ability to pay. We oppose any and all efforts to weaken or undermine that right.

In simpler terms, that means freedom to choose abortion until the moment of birth (or partially born) and the government paying for it if the person cannot.

Needless to say, I was struck by how aggressive the Democrats were on the subject, no longer talking about reducing abortion or making it “rare,” but cheering its mention. It turns out I was not the only one who noticed.

For the rest of the post…

