prayer

I recognize that my prayer life is not what I would like it to be. This is something that God is working on me right now. I want to continue to grow in my prayer life.

I know that God answers prayer and I know that prayer really works but what makes up an effective prayer?

4 qualities of effective prayer

1. Effective prayers are humble prayers.

“God opposes the proud, but gives grace to the humble … Humble yourselves before the Lord and He will life you up.” James 4:6b, 10

We are given a promise in this verse.

Our God, who is the Creator, the King of Kings and the Lord of Lords … He is the One that will lift us up.

But what we have to understand is that humbling and humility precedes the miraculous in our lives.

You want to get God’s attention? You want Him to move? You want Him to listen to the prayer that you’re bringing to Him?

Humble yourself. Humble yourself before Him.

This means recognizing who God is (what He is alone is capable of) and who we are (what we are not capable of).

2. Effective prayers are specific prayers.

“… You do not have, because you do not ask God.” James 4:2b

How simplistic is that? And yet we drive right past that verse, don’t we?

I’ve got to be honest with you.  So many times in my life, I have been a wishy-washy pray-er, a non-specific praying kind of guy.

I need to be reminded of this verse often: You do not have because you do not ask God.

We need to be bringing our specific requests to God.

For the rest of the article…

